
TeslaTesla Optimus Hand (2022)
Tesla's Optimus prototype hand shown at AI Day 2022. Each hand has six actuators and 11 degrees of freedom. An in-hand controller drives the fingers and receives sensor feedback. Its adaptive mechanism conforms to grasped objects, and its non-backdrivable finger drive can hold objects with the hand motors off.

Technical specifications
Model specifications are shown below. Configuration-specific values are listed separately; missing data does not mean zero or unsupported.
Physical Specifications
Six actuators per hand are stated separately from the 11 DoF. Actuator count alone does not establish the active control count.
The inherited classification describes tendon/spring transmission, not a confirmed motor type. Transmission is recorded separately; motor technology remains unconfirmed.
The 2022 presentation states 11 DoF and six actuators without distinguishing active and passive coordinates. The active count remains unconfirmed.
Material applies only to the metallic finger tendons. Alloy, steel grade, frame and finger-shell materials are not specified.
The presentation gives 11 DoF without identifying 11 independently actuated coordinates. Do not use this value as the active control count.
2022 design: tendons close the fingers and springs passively extend them. This does not establish a gearbox ratio or active DoF count.
Motion and coordination
Mechanical Structure
Sensors
Sensor types, layout and quantities are unspecified. The introductory tactile-sensing comparison describes human hands and does not establish robot tactile hardware.
Compute Platform
The presentation identifies an in-hand controller but does not specify its CPU, memory or physical communication interface.